Disciplinary and professional service

Association for Library & Information Science EducationPratt-Severn Faculty Innovation Award Committee2006-07
Association for Computational LinguisticsProgram Committee1981
American Educational Research AssociationProgram Committees1998 (C, K), previous years back to 1980
 Sylvia Scribner Award Committee1992-93
Association for Computational LinguisticsProgram Committee1981
 Executive Board1977-80
Association for Computing MachineryFaculty Sponsor, Rutgers U.1971-74
 Student Chapter President, U. of Texas at Austin1969-70
Computer Supported Cooperative LearningProgram Committee1995
Computer Supported Cooperative WorkSpecial Issue on computer-supported collaborative writing1995
 Program Committee1988
Dialogues in Methods of EducationMember1990-2010
International Conference on Computers in EducationProgram Committee1998
International Reading AssociationNew Literacies Committee2006-2010
 Visual Arts & Reading Committee1994-95
 Conference reviewervarious
John Dewey SocietyMember2000-present
Joint Conference on Digital LibrariesProgram Committee2006
National Council of Teachers of EnglishRegional Publications Advisory Committee1993-2010
 Instructional Technology Committee (NCTENet)1992-96
National Reading ConferenceTechnology Committee1994-2010
 Committee on Contributions & Donations1992-95
 Program Committeesvarious
World Universities Congress, Çanakkale Onsekiz Mart ÜniversitesiInternational Scientific Advisory Committee